Anambra Assembly renews tenure of 21 LGAs Transition Committee Chairmen for 3 months

Anambra State House of Assembly has renewed the tenure of Transition Committee Chairmen for all 21 Local Government Areas of the state for another three months.
This was sequel to a letter received by the House from Gov. Willie Obiano for consideration of the nominees as Caretaker Committee Chairmen in the 21 Local Government Areas (LGAs) of the state.

The House renewed their tenure during plenary, presided over by the Speaker, Mr Uchenna Okafor on July 21.The House extended their tenure in line with section 280 of the Local Government Law 1999 as amended, and as requested by Gov. Obiano.The lawmakers had at the Committee of the Whole screened and considered the election of the transition Committee Chairmen of the 21 local government areas of the state.

This was carried out by the legislators by inviting the nominees’ committee chairmen in batches because of the observance of COVID-19 protocols for screening and consideration.The Speaker, Mr Okafor read out the confirmation of their appointments to the House, while the lawmakers unanimously adopted it through voice votes.
In his speech shortly after their confirmation, the speaker urged the LG transition committee chairmen to attract more dividends of democracy to their respective LGs.He urged them to assist Gov. Obiano in making his achievements visible in their LGAs.

Mr Okafor, then, enjoined the newly confirmed transition Committee Chairmen to work with their representatives in the state House of Assembly to enforce COVID-19 law in their various LGAs.Most of our constituents expect a lot from you; make sure developments reach the LG areas as well as the Governor’s achievements visible in your areas.

Now that we have COVID-19 pandemic, your role is to liaise with your representatives to ensure the necessary protocols are observed in your areas.This is the time to show that you are your brother’s keeper (Onye aghana nwanne ya) in your areas to ensure palliatives get to your constituencies.I wish you people good luck in your renewed tenures. Congratulations,” the speaker said.

Responding on behalf of the newly confirmed committee chairmen, Transition Committee Chairman, Idemili North Local Government Area, Mr Raphael Nnabuife thanked the House and Gov Obiano for giving them another opportunity to pilot affairs of their LGAs.Mr Nnabuife re-assured that they would continue to work for the benefit of the state.

Speaking in an interview, Transition Committee Chairman, Orumba South Local Government Area, Mr Cyprian Okereke commended Gov. Obiano for finding him worthy to serve the LGA.He assured that he would complement the efforts of the state government in the war against COVID-19 pandemic as well as make a positive impact on the lives of his people.

Leave a Reply